Mark Saltzman

screenwriter . tv writer
  playwright . songwriter

Sesame Street poster

Sesame Street

Seven Emmy Awards

Mark wrote for nine years (1981-1990) for the daily “Sesame Street” show. During that time, he garnered 7 Emmy Awards for Best Writing for a Children’s Show.

While working on the show Mark also co-wrote over 40 songs including:

  • New Way to Walk, Lyrics by Mark Saltzman, Music by Joe Raposo
  • Oh How I Miss My X, Lyrics by Mark Saltzman, Music by Cheryl Hardwicke, Performed by Patti La Belle
  • Carribbean Amphibian, Music and Lyrics by Mark Saltzman
  • What’s Down Below the Street, Music and Lyrics by Mark Saltzman

Other Sesame Street projects include:

  • Shalom Sesame Street, the Israeli version of “Sesame Street”
  • Created the Muppet character Placido Flamingo

Placido Flamingo

ABC Televsion Specials include:

  • Sesame Street All-Star 25th Anniversary, Co-Writer, starring Charles Grodin, Susan Sarandon, Joe Pesci and Julia Louis-Dreyfus
  • Elmopalooza, Co-Writer, featuring Rosie O’Donnell, John Stewart and Chris Rock